Web Content Display


Support and Feedback

Watch our introductory video.

Frequently asked Questions & Answers can be found here.


Quick Guide to the Online Note Editor

  • In the File/New Score menu you will find several templates for your score (e.g. Piano or Quartet).

  • To insert notes or rests, just click into the score. You can select the note or rest duration in the toolbar.

  • To delete a note or rest, select it and push the delete button.

  • Use rectangle selection or the CTRL key to select multiple objects.

  • Alternatively you may enter notes with the mouse keyboard below the score. The notes are inserted after the selected object.

  • With drag and drop you can change the pitch, or drag the note to another place within the score. If you also press the CTRL key, the note will be moved within its line only.

  • The toolbar lets you change the properties of one or several selected notes (e.g. accidental, articulation, or duration).

  • Copy and Paste: Select Edit/Copy to copy selected notes. Then select a clef or note after which you want to insert the copied notes and select Edit/Paste.

Copy notePaste note
















  • For playback click the play button. Use the stop button to stop playback. The playback tempo can be changed via Score/Tempo.


  • You can register on scorio.com to save your score. Registration is free of charge.

  • Use the File/Print menu to display your score as a PDF document in a new browser tab, and print it.


  • Push the publish button to share your score with other users.


MusicXML import/export

MusicXML import: MusicXML is an open, XML-based music notation file format, supported by most music notation programs. You will find numerous collections of MusicXML scores in the Internet which you can import, edit, and print with scorio.

MusicXML export: You may export the scores you have created with scorio in MusicXML format and edit them with your favorite music notation program. After importing a score into the notation program, use the following preferences to correctly display the score:

  • Finale 2009: Select menu item Edit/Select All. To display all accidentals, select Utilities/Check Notation/Check accidentals. To set beams, select Utilities/Rebeam/Rebeam Music.
  • Sibelius 6: To set beams, select Notes/Reset Beam Groups.
  • capella 7: To split score into systems, select Extras/Score Wrap Around. To set beams, select Edit/Mark/All and then Format/Beaming/Automatic. The beam groups may be changed with Format/Systems/General/Beam.


Use Score/Lyrics to add lyrics with multiple stanzas. Select a note of the voice to which you want to add lyrics, or simply click a syllable if you have already entered lyrics. Enter the syllables separated by space in the lyrics dialog; they will be placed below the notes.

Entering Chords

Use Score/Chords to add chords to a staff. Select a note of the staff to which you want to add chords. If you have already entered chords, simply click a specific chord symbol to edit it. The "Insert/Edit chord" dialog provides an easy way to enter commonly used chords. If you want to enter or edit more complex chords manually you can use Lilypond chord notation (all elements except root are optional):

<root><duration>:<chord type><list of chord modifiers>/<bass>

Example: "c2:m9.5-^7/ees" represents a chord with half note duration and the following chord notes (starting from bass note): [e flat, c, g flat, d]

  • The chord root (e.g. "c") is given as a lower-case pitch name from c to b, adding "es" for flat, "is" for sharp, "eses" for double flat, and "isis" for double sharp.
  • The note duration (e.g. "2") is given as follows: "32" (32nd), "16" (16th), "8" (8th), "4" (quarter), "2" (half), "1" (whole), "\breve" (breve), "\longa" (longa), adding dots (".") for dotted durations.
  • The following chord types (e.g. "m") are known: "" (major triad, default), "m" (minor), "dim" (diminished), "aug" (augmented), "maj" (major 7th chord with raised 7th step).
  • Chord modifiers (e.g. "9.5-^7") are given as a dot-separated list of step numbers (from 2 to 13) to be added, and after "^" an (optional) list of dot-separated step numbers to be removed. Each added step can be lowered or raised using the "-" or "+" sign. The first added step number is taken to be the extent of the chord. The chord is constructed by sequentially adding thirds to the root until the specified number has been reached. Note that the seventh step added as part of an extended chord will be the minor or flattened seventh, not the major seventh.
  • The bass note (e.g. "ees") is given in the same way as the root.


Have fun!